Skip to content

CV

Professional experience

See Research and Teaching for my current activities.

Post-doc

Laboratory of Polymers and Advanced Materials, Saint-Fons (France), 2008 — 2011

Modelization of plasticity in reinforced rubbers.
Remplacing carbon black by silica in the tread of tires allowed for decreasing the rolling resistance, while preserving good grip properties (green tires). Improving this grip-rolling resistance trade-off is a major industrial challenge, which requires to understand the role of fillers (silica, carbon black) in the mechanical behavior of reinforced rubbers.
But the polymer dynamics is modified in the vicinity of a solid interface like a filler: the glass transition temperature Tg locally increases, which leads to the formation of glassy bridges between the filler particles. Polymer dynamics close to solid substrates is a very active research topic, as fundamental science concerning glass transition in thin films (theory and experiments) and from an applied perspective as regards consequences on the mechanical properties of nanocomposites.
The model of Long et al. of glass transition, based on the role of dynamical heterogeneities, gives an interpretation of Tg shifts close to a solid substrate. I developed a mesoscopic description of the polymer confined between two substrates, allowing for implementing the physical concepts of this model in numerical simulations of the mechanics. We obtain that at great deformation, two plasticity mechanisms can occur (flow or desorption) depending on the system under study (filler-polymer interaction) and on the operating conditions (frequency, temperature). In the elastic regime, Tg shifts are obtained with the film thinness for the first time in simulations of the mechanical response.
Reference : Europhys. Lett. 103 (2013) 26002.

PhD

Laboratory of Physics of the École Normale Supérieure of Lyon, 2005 — 2008

Lehmann effects in liquid crystals
Cholesteric liquid crystals generally have a helical structure due to the presence of chiral molecules. In these systems a linear thermomechanical coupling can be observed, the Lehmann effect: a temperature gradient exerts a torque on the local orientation of the molecules. The explanation of this coupling by Leslie appeals to a phenomenological coefficient ν which can only be non-zero in chiral phases.
On the other hand, there are cholesteric called compensated, the structure of which spontaneously unwinds at a particular temperature, leading to an achiral structure. In this PhD work, we have experimentally shown that ν does not vanish at the unwinding temperature. This implies that the phase is still chiral at this temperature, a point which was up to then controversial. The order of magnitude of Leslie’s coefficient ν was estimated from new experiments made using static deformations or continuous rotations of the cholesteric texture.
Reference : Effet Lehmann dans les cristaux liquides cholestériques (École Normale Supérieure de Lyon, 2008)

Instructorship

CIES de Lyon, 2005 — 2008

During my PhD, I teached at the École Normale Sup’ Lyon to students preparing the competitive exam of the highest French teaching degree in physics (and chemistry). Annual duty: 64 h :

  • Corrections of lessons et practical works
  • Supervision of practical works (optics, magnetism, mechanics)
  • Exam subject based on knowledge in physics about optics of non-linear, heterogeneous or anisotropic materials.

Internships

Education

2005-2008PhD in physicsLab. of Physics of the ÉNS LyonSumma cum Laude
2004-2005Master "Physics of Liquids and Soft Matter"University of Paris VIranked 1st, with distinction
2004Highest French teaching degree in physicsÉcole Normale Sup' LyonNational ranking: 11th
2001-2003Bachelor in PhysicsÉcole Normale Sup' LyonCivil servant student, with distinction
1999-2001Preparatory classes for Grandes ÉcolesLycée Claude Fauriel, St-Étienne
1999French high school diploma (science)Lycée Étienne Mimard, St-Étiennewith distinction

Skip to content

CV

Expérience professionnelle

Voir la page Recherche et Enseignement pour mon activité actuelle.

Post-doc

Laboratoire des Polymères et Matériaux Avancés, Saint-Fons, 2008 — 2011

Modélisation de la plasticité dans les caoutchoucs renforcés.
Le remplacement du noir de carbone par de la silice dans la bande de roulement des pneumatiques a permis de diminuer la résistance au roulement, tout en conservant de bonnes propriétés d’adhérence (pneus verts). L’amélioration de ce compromis adhérence-résistance au roulement est un enjeu industriel important, qui nécessite de comprendre le rôle des charges (silice, noir de carbone) dans le comportement mécanique du caoutchouc renforcé.
Or la dynamique du polymère est modifiée à proximité d’une interface solide telle qu’une charge : la température de transition vitreuse Tg augmente localement, conduisant à la formation de ponts vitreux entre les charges. La dynamique des polymères au voisinage d’un substrat solide est un champ de recherche très actif actuellement, tant en physique fondamentale, concernant la transition vitreuse en films minces (théorie et expériences), que du point de vue applicatif, compte tenu des conséquences sur les propriétés mécaniques des nanocomposites.
Le modèle de Long et coll. de la transition vitreuse, fondé sur le rôle des hétérogénéités dynamiques, permet d’interpréter le décalage de Tg à proximité d’un substrat solide. J’ai développé une description mésoscopique du polymère confiné entre deux substrats, permettant de mettre en application les ingrédients physiques de ce modèle dans des simulations numériques de mécanique. Nous obtenons notamment qu’aux grandes déformations, deux mécanismes de plasticité peuvent se manifester (écoulement du polymère ou désorption) selon le système étudié (interaction polymère-charge) et les conditions opératoires (fréquence, température). En régime élastique, des décalages de Tg avec l’épaisseur du film sont mis en évidence pour la première fois par des simulations de la réponse mécanique.
Référence : Europhys. Lett. 103 (2013) 26002.

Thèse

Laboratoire des Physique de l’ÉNS Lyon, 2005 — 2008

Effet Lehmann dans les cristaux liquides
Les cristaux liquides cholestériques ont en général une structure en hélice due à la présence de molécules chirales. Dans ces systèmes bien particuliers, on peut observer un couplage thermomécanique linéaire, l’effet Lehmann : un gradient de température exerce un couple sur l’orientation locale des molécules. L’explication de cet effet par Leslie fait intervenir un coefficient phénoménologique ν qui ne peut être non nul que si la phase est chirale.
Par ailleurs, il existe des cholestériques dits compensés dont la structure en hélice se déroule spontanément à une température particulière, conduisant à une structure non chirale. Dans cette thèse, nous avons montré expérimentalement que ν n’est pas nul à la température de déroulage de l’hélice. Cela implique que la phase est encore chirale à cette température, point qui était jusqu’alors controversé. De plus les expériences effectuées, statiques et dynamiques, permettent d’estimer l’ordre de grandeur du coefficient ν.
Référence : Effet Lehmann dans les cristaux liquides cholestériques (École Normale Supérieure de Lyon, 2008)

Monitorat

CIES de Lyon, 2005 — 2008

En parallèle de la thèse, j’ai enseigné à la préparation à l’agrégation de sciences physiques de l’École Normale Sup’ Lyon, options physique et chimie, pour un volume horaire total de 64 h/an :

  • Corrections de leçons et montages (type travaux pratiques)
  • Encadrement de travaux pratiques (optique, magnétisme, mécanique)
  • Devoir de type Épreuve A (axé sur les connaissances en physique) sur l’optique des milieux non-linéaires, inhomogènes ou anisotropes.

Stages

Cursus scolaire

2005-2008Doctorat de physiqueLab. de Physique de l'ÉNS LyonMention très honorable
2004-2005Master "Physique des Liquides et Matière Molle"Université Paris VI1er, mention TB
2004Agrégation de Sciences Physiques, option physiqueÉcole Normale Sup' LyonClassement national: 11e
2001-2003Licence, Maîtrise de Sciences physiqueÉcole Normale Sup' LyonNormalien, mention B, TB
1999-2001Classes préparatoire PCSI, PC*Lycée Claude Fauriel, St-Étienne
1999Baccalauréat Scientifique option TILycée Étienne Mimard, St-ÉtienneMention TB